Five days Faculty Development Program on Power Electronics & Drives at ABEIST GZB. (June 12 – 16, 2017)

Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering conducted a five days Faculty Development Program on Power Electronics & Drives from 12th June 2017 to 16th June 2017. Inaugural ceremony was held on 12th June 2017. Dr. Sandhya Chintala, Executive Director, Sector Skills Council, NASSCOM was the Chief Guest, Prof. (Dr.) G. Bhuvaneshwari, IIT Delhi was the Guest of Honor and Prof. (Dr.) Sampath Kumar V was the Distinguished guests. Faculties from various Institutions participated in it.

The program started by lightening of the ceremonial lamp by the chief guest Dr. Sandhya Chintala. After introducing NASSCOM as catalyzing Industry growth emphasizing on Skills for the Future, she emphasized that teacher’s readiness is core to candidate’s success. She enlightened teacher’s responsibilities which includes nurturing and enhancing employability of students at every level.The first speaker of this faculty Development program was Prof. (Dr.) G. Bhuvaneshwari, IIT Delhi. She delivered a talk on “Overview of Power Electronic Devices and Converters”.

On day two (13 June 2017) in pre-lunch session, Mr. Tijo Thomas, Sr. applications Engineer-LF & drives, Entuple Technologies Pvt Ltd, Bangalore delivered lecture on “Finite Element Approach of machine design” in context of Power Electronics & Drives. In post-lunch session Prof Sanjay Gairola, NIET, G Noida discussed about the “Power Quality Improvement using Multi-pulse Technologies”.

On day three (14 June 2017) Prof Nitin Saxena, MIT Moradabad explained “SVC and STATCOM for Reactive Power Compensation”. Prof Bhavesh Kumar Chauhan, Director, ABESIT Ghaziabad introduced to the faculties about the “Operational Characteristics of Modern Electric Drives”and also explained about the scopes in various research areas of Electric Drives. The third speaker of the day Prof S. P. Singh, IIT Roorkee had also discussed about the “Recent Developments in Electric Drives”

On day four (15 June 2017) Prof P Ranjan, Amity Noida elaborated the “Nonlinear Instabilities of DC-DC Converters”. The other speaker Prof Sandeep Anand, IIT Kanpur discussed about the “Research Challenges in Grid Feeding Solar PV Inverters”

On day five (16 June 2017) “Power Quality and its Improvement Techniques” was discussed by Prof Nitin Gupta, NIT Jaipur. Prof Sampath Kumar, JSS Noida explained the “FPGA Programming and Exploitation of Reconfiguration Feature in it”. The five-day FDP program was concluded in the valedictory session by distributing the certificates to the participating faculty members of various colleges in presence of Prof (Dr.) Sampath Kumar V, Associate Dean, AKTU, Uttar Pradesh followed by the “vote of thanks” delivered by Prof (Dr.) Bhavesh Kumar Chauhan, Director, ABESIT Ghaziabad.